Strawberry Lemon Pancakes {vegan}

DSC_0518

Nothing says summer to me like juicy, red strawberries! And we are definitely a family of strawberry lovers. We go through about 2-3 lbs a week during the summer months. We eat them cut up, in smoothies, as a snack, as a dessert and any other way we can think! In fact, my 4 year old has been asking me to make Strawberry Pancakes for months. I thought this was a great idea and decided to try and make it happen…

We don’t really do processed cereal for breakfast. So I typically will make waffles, smoothies, oatmeal and of course, PANCAKES! Pancakes are a huge hit in our house with the boys. I try to switch it up and make different kinds and not just regular plain pancakes. So this was another great reason to try to create a yummy summer pancake recipe.

And I am happy to say, I made it happen on the first try (I think all my pancake and waffle making has paid off!) ūüėČ

DSC_0519

These are¬†light and fluffy! Which is awesome for a vegan pancake. Also, considering the moisture the strawberries will release, I was very excited that they didn’t make the pancakes deflate! With the addition of lemon juice and lemon zest, these pancakes are refreshing, making them perfect for breakfast in the summer.

DSC_0516

Strawberry Lemon Pancakes

Yields: 6-7 servings/ pancakes

Created By: Jenn F.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2¬†cup AP flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 cup non dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 1 Tablespoon ground flax seed
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 Tablespoon oil
  • 1 cup diced strawberries

Directions

  1. In a small glass or bowl, mix non dairy milk, flax and lemon juice. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and lemon zest.
  3. Pour milk/ flax/ lemon mixture into center of dry ingredients. Add water and oil. Stir until just combined. Be sure not to over mix. Fold in strawberries. Let batter sit for 10-15 minutes.
  4. Heat pan over low-med heat. You want your pan heated before adding the batter. (I use a cast iron skillet, on my stove, my heat setting is between low & med but closer to the low mark.)
  5. Before adding batter, spray skillet with non stick spray/ oil (I use Trader Joe’s spray coconut oil). Spoon batter onto skillet in heaping 1/4 cup dollops. Let it cook about 3 minutes, until edges look dry and the top starts to slightly bubble. Flip ONCE and let cook another 2-3 minutes. Repeat until all the batter is used!

DSC_0512

DSC_0517

All Images 2014-2015 ©NaturallyAwesomeMama All Rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemon Pancakes {vegan}

Leave a Reply

