Journey to Health…new milestone!

I am so excited to have reached a new milestone in my journey to health. I am down 50 lbs. Of course, I still believe the number on the scale isn’t all that should matter. But this is still a huge accomplishment for myself. I look back over the last several months and even back to when I first started my journey, when I was motivated but unsure if I could do it. I remembered the countless times I attempted eating healthier and getting active to only crash and fall back on old habits. I have tried so many fad diets, counting calories, depriving myself and lost motivation quickly. So what is different this time, I have wondered to myself? Why am I finally succeeding at my goals?

I still don’t think I fully know the answer. All I know is I am enjoying the foods I am eating and I am feeling great. I have really noticed a huge difference in how my body feels. I have tons of energy, my legs no longer ache after a bit of walking, I rarely get headaches anymore, I don’t get out of breath going up stairs and I am able to keep up with my kids. At this point, I feel like my whole lifestyle has changed. It is no longer a chore for me to look for and cook up healthy meals. I crave veggies and I enjoy trying new foods. I am still the first to admit that my eating habits aren’t perfect and I am sure they never will be. But I have found what works for myself and my family and that’s what I feel is most important.

Like I said back in my original post, Journey to Self Love, it doesn’t matter what the number on the scale is. That’s why I really, really am trying to teach myself not to dwell on that number or stress out over reaching a certain milestone. What has become most important is how I feel. I still have the stretch marks and baby pooch but they are a part of me that may be there forever. However, all the aches and pains I mentioned above that affected me months ago have become part of my past. I love that I can get up and run around to chase my kids. And these things alone are what keep me motivated.

I am still not quite where I want to be but I am getting closer and closer everyday. I am still working on completely loving myself and not concentrating on the scale. But I know I will get there one day. I have had ups and downs but they are part of the journey. I know I will continue to have bumps in the road. But it’s all worth it and I am loving every moment of it.

 

0827141016

All Images ©2014 NaturallyAwesomeMama All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Journey to Health…new milestone!

  1. That’s great, Jen! Good for you! I totally agree about the scale. The only time I get on one is at the doctor’s office once a year. It’s all about how your feel. If you are feeling healthy, rested and full of energy, you likely are doing something right. There are plenty of people who like what they see on the scale, but are anything but healthy. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

