Vegan Challenge Update

As most of you know, I decided to do try a Vegan Challenge for the month of June. My first week started off great. I had a bunch of recipes planned out. Made a bunch of recipes and frozen things so it would be quick and easy to prepare and I would always have options on hand. I have enjoyed every new recipe I have tried and look forward to sharing them in the coming weeks as part of my “Meatless Mondays” series. However, by the end of the first week, I was feeling extremely fatigued and just not myself. My brother and his fiancé came into town for the weekend and we were out and about visiting and out to eat. So I ended up giving in and had a burger 😦 So I made it a full week vegan. And even though I did cheat, I am still eating mostly vegan and in fact most days, I eat completely vegan. Not even on purpose. I came to the conclusion that although I think being vegan is a great thing health wise and for the animals, with everything going on right now, I cannot fully commit. I do eat vegan about 80-90% of the time just because they are foods that I enjoy! I guess you can say I am a flexitarian but vegan style… flexiegan?? hehe. Anyway, I think labels are lame and I am going to continue to do what I do: enjoy delicious vegan foods, try new vegan recipes and eat shrimp or a burger every once in a while. Maybe one day I will work my way to being 100% vegan, maybe I won’t. All I know is I am doing the best I can for myself and my family. I feel good the way I am eating and have a come a LONG way from the days of eating 80-90% processed, boxed meals and fast food. The way I look at it is I have done a complete turn around in the way we eat. I enjoy cooking now and trying new things. About 80% of our food is from scratch or fresh, real ingredients. So I don’t look at this like I “failed” my challenge. I will continue to work towards a more healthier me. I will continue sharing yummy vegan recipes I discover and try. In fact, I will leave you with some of the vegan foods we enjoyed this past month and will continue enjoying from here on out. Although I am not 100% plant based, I know vegan foods will be a part of our lives for as long as I live.

Vegan Burger from VeganRicha w/ homemade vegan ranch. THE best vegan burger EVER! and it's grill-able!

Vegan Burger from VeganRicha w/ homemade vegan ranch. THE best vegan burger EVER! and it’s grill-able!

Coconut Milk Yogurt with fresh fruit and Nutty Granola Clusters from Oh She Glows. Great snack or breakfast and the boys LOVE it!

Coconut Milk Yogurt with fresh fruit and Nutty Granola Clusters from Oh She Glows. Great snack or breakfast and the boys LOVE it!

Vegan Lemon Vanilla Pound Cake from VeganRicha with coconut whipped cream and strawberries. GREAT dessert!

Vegan Lemon Vanilla Pound Cake from VeganRicha with coconut whipped cream and strawberries. GREAT dessert!

Olive Angel Hair Pasta with Brussel Sprouts. Delicious, whole family loved this one! Recipe out of Isa Does It cookbook

Olive Angel Hair Pasta with Brussel Sprouts. Delicious, whole family loved this one! Recipe out of Isa Does It cookbook

(bad cell phone pic) Falafel from Isa Does It with salad and fresh fruit

(bad cell phone pic)
Falafel from Isa Does It with salad and fresh fruit

Cauli-power Alfredo with broccoli from OSG. Served with homemade biscuits.

Cauli-power Alfredo with broccoli from OSG. Served with homemade biscuits.

Brussel Sprout Fried Rice from theppk.com

Brussel Sprout Fried Rice from theppk.com

One of the many smoothies I tried. This was made using Green Matcha Tea. So good!! From 365 Vegan Smoothies

One of the many smoothies I tried. This was made using Green Matcha Tea. So good!! From 365 Vegan Smoothies

Apple Sandwiches

Apple Sandwiches

Spaghetti and Beanballs

Spaghetti and Beanballs

Resources for Recipes

 

All Images ©2014 NaturallyAwesomeMama All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Vegan Challenge Update

  1. 80% vegan is a lot better than 100% meat eater! I wish more people would change their food habits the way you have. I started my vegan lifestyle yesterday. I wish I’d started years ago!

    • Thank you! And that’s awesome you have changed your eating habits as well. I wish I knew better years ago but I was raised on processed foods and that being all I knew for so long. I continue to strive to be healthier and raise my kids with healthy eating habits and letting them choose. My two boys actually choose to eat vegan most the time as well. I have struggled with weight issues my whole life and now am taking charge. I have lost 40 lbs and counting since changing my eating habits. I feel the best I have!

Leave a Reply

