Meatless Monday: Spaghetti & “Meat”balls

Every Monday I will be posting a “Meatless Monday” recipe. I wanted to try a new recipe I have had pinned for a while. I have never really been a meat ball person and all my real meat, meat balls I have tried making in the past ended up gross, greasy messes. But these ones from Oh She Glows just sounded yummy and I made sure to try them out this month during my vegan challenge.

Yes, it IS vegan

Yes, it IS vegan

I made them during the day and just reheated them in our spaghetti sauce before serving. If you plan on making them with dinner, I would make sure you give yourself a good hour to make the “meat”balls from start to finish. They freeze well, so that is also a good option if you make them a day or more in advance!

DSC_0503

I love that these held together so nicely even after simmering in the sauce, a big plus for me considering that they have no real egg to bind them… gotta love flax eggs 😉

Before going into the oven

Before going into the oven

Nicely browned, fresh out of the oven

Nicely browned, fresh out of the oven

They have the perfect look and texture you could expect in a meat ball, especially surprising for them technically being bean balls haha

I really like the colors! Hidden carrots in there for picky toddlers

I really like the colors! Hidden carrots in there for picky toddlers

They were very yummy without being too overpowering. And even better, I had plenty of bean balls leftover to freeze for 2 other meals in the future! Definitely something you want to try if you are a busy mom and have days you just don’t want to cook a whole meal from scratch. Even if you are not vegan, these pass the test. They make a great Meatless Monday meal so go ahead and give them a try!!

You can find the recipe here

 

 

 

 

All Images ©2014 NaturallyAwesomeMama All Rights Reserved

One thought on “Meatless Monday: Spaghetti & “Meat”balls

  1. Oh, wow – those look fantastic!! 😀 Will definitely pop over to see the recipe. Thanks! ANd I look forward to more in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

