May Health & Fitness Challenge Week 1

If you have been following, you will know for the month of May I decided to take part in a Health & Fitness Challenge another blogger I follow started. I set up some goals for myself and decided I would update you all every week on my progress. If you missed my first post, read it here.

I admit, I had a terrible start the first couple days because they fell on a weekend when we had a lot of plans. So we were out of the house most the time. But once the week came, I quickly got on track. Drinking 8 glasses of water has been the easiest for me which surprised me. I decided to make it easier to keep track of, I would use one of my quart mason jars. In order to reach my goal of 8 glasses a day, all I need to do is drink 2 of these. Easy peasy! I have done very well with cutting out soda. I did have one evening I had a bad headache and I drank half a soda to use the caffeine to help (and it did) then gave Kyle the rest of the soda. Other than that I am soda free since!

Drinking my daily smoothie has been great! Now I remember why I always enjoyed having one a day. I don’t always add any type of protein powder to mine. I try and concentrate just on using whole fruits and vegetables. I also like to put in add ins such as: chia seeds, hemp seeds, nuts/ nut butters, flax seed/oil and many other things that have great benefits. I will do a follow up post about all these super foods and smoothie add ins as I have been getting a lot of questions about what they are and their benefits. All my smoothies are vegan because we don’t do dairy in our house. Sometimes I make them up, but most often than not, I use a wonderful book called 365 Vegan Smoothies by vegan food blogger Kathy Patalsky. Totally recommend this book if you tend to get into smoothie ruts like me. Anyway, here are a few of the delicious smoothies I had this week:

smoothie1

Working out…that’s another story, I am sad to say 😦  I am hoping next week I will have better news about the exercising. We have had some beautiful weather and have been spending a lot of time outside and doing a lot of other activities.

Despite not working out, I have already lost more than half of my weight loss goal for the month which is awesome and I officially weigh the least I have in over 3 years 😀

So not bad for my first week!

 

How did you do this week? Did you set goals for yourself? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

All Images © 2014 Naturally Awesome Mama All Rights Reserved

 

 

3 thoughts on “May Health & Fitness Challenge Week 1

Leave a Reply

