Our Vegan Cinco de Mayo Dinner

Today is May 5, Cinco de Mayo. I thought it would be fun to have some homemade Mexican food for dinner. I threw together this simple meal and it is all Vegan!

Vegan Tostadas and Mexican Rice

Vegan Tostadas and Mexican Rice

For the Mexican Rice, I used this recipe (I subbed vegetable broth for the chicken broth).

DSC_0405

For the tostados, just let your imagination run wild. We used store bought tostado chips and covered them with our favorite toppings. You can use:

  • black olives
  • green onion
  • tomato
  • lettuce
  • cheese (if that’s your thing)
  • black beans
  • refried beans
  • avocado
  • salsa
  • guacamole
  • jalapeno
  • cooked sweet potato or squash chunks
  • bell peppers
  • onions
  • sour cream (vegan or dairy)
  • cilantro
  • lime wedges for fresh squeezed lime juice
Looks simple, it is simple. But very FLAVORFUL!

Looks simple, it is simple. But very FLAVORFUL!

In my tostada pictured above, I chose organic refried pinto beans (salsa style from Trader Joes), homemade cilantro lime avocado cream (recipe from Ohsheglows cookbook, I highly recommend), organic romaine lettuce, organic tomatillo salsa from Trader Joes and homemade vegan sour cream from the recipe linked above. I wish I prepared a bit more for this meal, but with it being something I threw together this evening, it was a HUGE hit with the whole family. Shayne even asked for seconds on the rice. Braydon devoured his tostado and Kyle wished he didn’t have such a big lunch. In fact Kyle said, “I don’t like Mexican food, but I LOVE this!”

The possibilities are endless. This is a great meal if you have picky kids because they can choose what toppings they like and it is fun as they will feel like they are making their own meal! Best of all this meal is quick, easy and healthy! It also works as a great Meatless Monday meal.

 

Leave a Reply

