Journey To Self Love

Nowadays, so many of us are raised into this society where skinny is sexy. We grow up stressing over the number stitched into the back of our jeans and the number on the scale. Many of us try diet after diet only to crash and burn or hit a plateau and slowly roll back down the hill. And all for what? To fit in? I, myself have struggled with not only my weight but my self image all of my adult life. I recently had my husband take some pictures of me for my “about” section of my blog and while I was going through them I couldn’t help but think “damn, I look good!” However, I will be honest and tell you by medical standards I am still considered overweight. The last time I weighed what I do now was over 3 years ago and if you would have asked me then how I thought I looked, the first thought that would have popped into my head is “fat”.

I have lost almost 40 lbs since having my second son just over a year ago and I still have some ways to go before I get to my personal goal. I know this may sound contradictory to the message I am passing along in this post. But I am not losing weight because society tells me to or to fit in. At my heaviest, I was not happy. I could feel the difference in my body and although I had no huge changes in my health, I just didn’t feel good or love myself. I was beginning to lack the motivation to do much of anything. It seemed like my life was the same day after day. I did what so many moms do and I was putting everyone and everything before myself. This quickly began to negatively impact my family. I knew something had to change because I did not want to send a negative message to my children. So I decided it was time to start taking care of myself because as we all know the saying goes, “if mama ain’t happy, nobody is happy”.  Do what makes you happy and helps you become the best person you can be! If this is getting to your goal weight, working out more, changing one thing in your diet, taking up a hobby you love, reading more, making a point to do your hair everyday, or simply taking more time for yourself etc, DO IT!

No editing other than applying black and white filter

No editing other than applying black and white filter

My body has been through two pregnancies, a cesarean birth, a vaginal birth and breastfeeding two children in the last 3-4 years. And these two little boys have brought me the most amazing joy and endless love I could ever imagine. They also brought me stretch marks and a jiggly baby pouch in the front of my belly I may never get rid of. I choose to not look at these things negatively, I embrace it because they are reminders that my body grew, nourished, birthed and sustained life! And because of this I love my body because it is pretty damn amazing!

This whole idea of self love doesn’t just go for those of us who have had kids. This goes for any woman, or man who struggles to love themselves. We do not need to fit in to be happy. The number on the scale is not what defines us. What defines us is the person we are and how we choose to live our life here on Earth. In fact, I firmly believe if we love and accept ourselves, we are less likely to judge others. Wouldn’t it be nice to live in a world where there is no reason to judge or hate another person. I know, I know, you’re thinking “calm down, Hippie”. I know we may never live in that “perfect” world, at least in my lifetime, because no one is perfect. But even if there was less concentration on our size and the way we look, maybe we can move towards a happier place. As parents, this starts with us. We need to show our children how to love themselves and others and look beyond physical appearance. Humans are not born with the ability to judge or hate. It is taught. I think if we can show our children to love one another regardless of looks and see who others really are on the inside this world will become a better, brighter, happier place.

boys

peace.love.live.

 

 

All Images ©2014 Naturally Awesome Mama All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Journey To Self Love

Leave a Reply

